BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concerts

BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concerts take place at 1pm on various Thursdays throughout the year and feature the finest chamber music performances from established performers and up-and-coming artists alike.

Since the building first opened in 2003, BBC Radio 3 have been presenting these concerts, which are recorded for broadcast at a later date, to ever-increasing numbers of people. Past seasons have included series of Bach sonatas and partitas, string quartets by Beethoven, Haydn and Mozart, Chopin piano music, song cycles by Mendelssohn, Mahler and Schumann, Piano Variations, and a Stravinsky, Debussy and Prokofiev series. We have played host to residencies by the Brodsky Quartet and Nash Ensemble, and have welcomed young performers from the ECHO Rising Stars programme.

On Radio 3 lunchtime concert days the Café is open for a full lunch service from 12–3pm, provided by Kitchen of Kent. Each concert starts at 1pm and lasts for approximately one hour.

2016/17 season

All concerts start at 1pm

Mozart & Tchaikovsky
Ten musicians explore Tchaikovsky's love of Mozart through songs, piano trios, string quartets and solo piano music.
Thu 6 Oct: Pavel Kolesnikov
Thu 13 Oct: Sitkovetsky Piano Trio
Thu 20 Oct: Robin Tritchler/Iain Burnside
Thu 24 Nov: Ehnes String Quartet

Lawrence Power & Friends
The charismatic soloist and chamber musician is joined by some of his closest collaborators for a celebration of the viola as a chamber music star, revealing its many guises and characters.
Thu 27 Oct: Lawrence Power
Thu 3 Nov: Lawrence Power/Paul Watkins/Simon Crawford-Phillips
Thu 10 Nov: Vilde Frang/Lawrence Power/Nicolas Altstaedt
Thu 17 Nov: Lawrence Power/Vertavo String Quartet

Russian Revolutionaries
Four pianists delve into the riches of the Russian piano repertoire before and after the momentous events of 1917, 100 years ago.
Thu 2 Feb: Elisabeth Leonskaja
Thu 9 Feb: Alexei Volodin
Thu 16 Feb: Anna Vinnitskaya
Thu 23 Feb: Vadym Kholodenko

The Nash Ensemble: Bruch & Vaughan Williams
A four-concert residency from the Nash Ensemble – its third residency at LSO St Luke's – focusing on the lyrical, tuneful gifts of Bruch and his one-time student Vaughan Williams.
Thu 2 Mar
Thu 9 Mar
Thu 16 Mar
Thu 30 Mar

Voice of the Cello
A series devoted to the smooth singing tones and rich sounds of the cello.
Thu 6 Apr: Narek Hakhnazaryan/Pavel Kolesnikov
Thu 13 Apr: Tim Hugh/Rebecca Gilliver
Thu 27 Apr: Christian Poltéra/Kathryn Stott
Thu 4 May: Alban Gerhardt/Steven Osborne

Tickets cost £12 (£10 concessions) plus booking fee* and can be booked online. Book any four concerts for £9 each (discount available on full price tickets only; all four concerts must be from the same season for discounts to apply).

* £0.60 online booking fee, £0.70 telephone booking fee per transaction. No fee when tickets are booked in person. Click here for more information on booking fees and discounts


Audience waiting for BBC Radio 3 lunchtime concert

bbc radio 3