2014/15 season


September 2014–July 2015

Welcome to the LSO's 2014/15 season at the Barbican, running from September 2014 to July 2015.

 

How to Book

Online: Click on the links below to browse the season or download a PDF or view as an online flipbook.
By phone: Call +44 20 7638 8891
In person: At Advance Box Office, Level G, Silk Street Entrance, Barbican
By post: Download a booking form and send it to LSO, Freepost KE7766, London EC2B 2RR

Booking fees

Barbican Centre: £3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee
LSO St Luke's: £0.60 online booking fee, £0.70 telephone booking fee
Booking fee includes the return of your tickets by first class post if time permits.

> Full details of ticket prices, multibuy discounts, booking fees and group booking discounts

Concerts by date

September 2014

> Sat 20 Sep: LSO Singing Day: from Bach to The Beatles
> Sun 21 Sep: Valery Gergiev/Denis Matsuev
> Tue 23 Sep: Valery Gergiev/Denis Matsuev

October 2014
> Thu 2 Oct: Sir John Eliot Gardiner/Gautier Capuçon
> Thu 9 Oct: Rafael Payare/Elisabeth Leonskaja
> Thu 16 Oct: Sir Antonio Pappano/Janine Jansen
> Sun 19 Oct: Sir Antonio Pappano/Piotr Anderszewski + LSO Discovery Afternoon: Andrzej Panufnik
> Thu 23 Oct: Bernard Haitink
> Sun 26 Oct: Daniel Harding
> Thu 30 Oct: Bernard Haitink/Mitsuko Uchida

November 2014
> Sun 2 Nov: Gianandrea Noseda/Nelson Freire/Marcus Farnsworth/LSC
> Sun 9 Nov: LSO Discovery Family Concert: Heroes & Legends
> Tue 11 Nov: Valery Gergiev/Denis Matsuev
> Thu 13 Nov: Valery Gergiev/Denis Matsuev
> Sat 22 Nov: LSO Singing Day: 19th Century Oratorios
> Wed 26 Nov: London Symphony Chorus/Simon Halsey

December 2014
> Sun 7 Dec: Daniel Harding/Emanuel Ax
> Mon 8 Dec: Donatella Flick LSO Conducting Competition Final 2014
> Thu 11 Dec: LSO on Film: The Magic and Majesty of Alexandre Desplat
> Sun 14 Dec: LSO Brass Ensemble & LSC Christmas Concert
> Thu 18 Dec: Nikolaj Znaider/Rudolf Buchbinder

January 2015
> Sun 4 Jan: National Youth Orchestra/John Wilson
> Sun 11 Jan: Sir Simon Rattle/Sally Matthews/Mark Padmore + LSO Discovery Day: Robert Schumann
> Thu 15 Jan: Sir Simon Rattle/Barbara Hannigan
> Sun 18 Jan: Xian Zhang/Valentina Lisitsa
> Sun 25 Jan: Robin Ticciati/Simon Trpceski/Karen Cargill

February 2015
> Sun 1 Feb: David Afkham/Nicholas Angelich
> Thu 5 Feb: Sir Mark Elder/Susan Graham
> Sat 7 Feb: LSO Singing Day: Duruflé Requiem
> Sun 8 Feb: LSO Discovery Family Concert
> Sun 15 Feb: Ginandrea Noseda/Alica Sara Ott
> Thu 19 Feb: Valery Gergiev/Roman Simovic

March 2015
> Sun 1 Mar: Donald Runnicles/LSC
> Thu 5 Mar: Kristjan Järvi/Roby Lakatos
> Thu 12 Mar: Michael Tilson Thomas/Yuja Wang
> Sun 15 Mar: Michael Tilson Thomas/Yuja Wang + LSO Discovery Day: Jean Sibelius

April 2015
> Wed 8 Apr: Gianandrea Noseda/Leonidas Kavakos
> Sun 12 Apr: Osmo Vänskä/Gil Shaham
> Thu 23 Apr: Pierre Boulez 90th birthday festival/Peter Eötvös
> Sun 26 Apr: LSO Discovery Family Concert
> Sun 26 Apr: LSO String Ensemble
> Thu 30 Apr: Tugan Sokhiev/Baiba Skride

May 2015
> Sun 3 May: Krzysztof Urbanski/Nicola Benedetti
> Thu 7 May: Semyon Bychkov/Isabelle Faust
> Sat 9 May: LSO Singing Day: Brahms Connections
> Tue 12 May: Valery Gergiev/Nikolaj Znaider
> Sun 24 May: Daniel Harding/Christian Tetzlaff/LSC

June 2015
> Tue 2 Jun: Daniel Harding/Janine Jansen
> Fri 5 Jun: Panufnik Composers Workshop
> Sun 7 Jun: Marin Alsop/James Ehnes
> Wed 10 Jun: André Previn/Anne-Sophie Mutter
> Sun 14 Jun: Bernard Haitink/Alina Ibragimova
> Sat 20 Jun: LSO Singing Day: African American Journey
> Sun 21 Jun: Bernard Haitink/Erin Wall/LSC + LSO Discovery Day: Ludwig van Beethoven
> Thu 25 Jun: LSO Discovery Concert: Pictures in Music
> Sun 28 Jun: Pablo Heras-Casado/Joshua Bell

July 2015
> Thu 2 Jul: Sir Simon Rattle/Krystian Zimmermann
> Sun 5 Jul: Sir Simon Rattle/LSO Youth Choir/LSO Community Choir

BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concerts

Nash Ensemble Residency
> Thu 9 Oct: Borodin/Stravinsky/Tchaikovsky
> Thu 16 Oct: Bruckner/Brahms
> Thu 23 Oct: Martinu/Krása/Dvorák
> Thu 30 Oct: Bruch/Beethoven

Young Pianists
> Thu 2 Oct: Lise de la Salle
> Thu 6 Nov: Khatia Buniatishvili
> Thu 13 Nov: Federico Coll
> Thu 20 Nov: Alice Sara Ott

Natalie Clein and Friends
> Thu 5 Feb: with Sergio Tiempo
> Thu 12 Feb: with Krysztof Chorzelski
> Thu 19 Feb: with Anthony Marwood
> Thu 26 Feb: with Mahan Esfahani

Haydn Plus
> Thu 5 Mar: Meta4 String Quartet
> Thu 12 Mar: Ronald Brautigam
> Thu 19 Mar: Endellion Quartet
> Thu 26 Mar: ATOS Trio

International Violinists
Part of the LSO International Violinists Festival
> Thu 21 May: Christian Tetzlaff
> Thu 11 Jun: James Ehnes
> Thu 18 Jun: Veronika Eberle
> Thu 25 Jun: Nicola Benedetti

 

Season Themes

Musical Alchemists
Journeys with great conductors

So what do great conductors do? The answer lies in those cosmic performances, where, in a truly alchemical transformation of elements, something is achieved that goes beyond the composer, the players and the soloists, and we are transfixed by the musical energy that is created on stage. Great conductors don't create concerts that just happen to you, they draw you into performances where you are an active, essential part of it.

Bernard Haitink: 23 Oct, 30 Oct, 14 Jun, 21 Jun
Sir Simon Rattle: 11 Jan, 15 Jan, 2 Jul, 5 Jul
André Previn: 10 Jun
Michael Tilson Thomas: 12 Mar, 15 Mar

Principal Conductor's Series
Heartland of Russia

2014/15 sees Valery Gergiev undertake his final complete London season with the LSO as the Orchestra's 15th Principal Conductor; he will continue the role until the end of 2015. His tenure reaches its hotly anticipated dénouement: a return to iconic repertoire from his homeland. Comprising five all-Russian programmes, his 2014/15 series also incorporates the powerhouse Siberian pianist Denis Matsuev's UBS Soundscapes: LSO Artist Portrait. Russophiles take note: for the most authentic performances of Russian music this side of the Baltic, there's only one place to be next season!

21 Sep: Tishchenko/Prokofiev/Shostakovich
23 Sep: Prokofiev/Tchaikovsky
11 & 13 Nov: Balakirev/Rachmaninov
19 Feb: Balakirev/Glazunov/Rachmaninov
12 May: Balakirev/Tchaikovsky/Shostakovich

International Violin Festival
Generously supported by Jonathan Moulds

From Easter until the end of Summer 2015 the LSO has assembled 12 of the world's greatest violinists for an International Violin Festival at the Barbican, alongside our own wonderful string talent. With concertos spanning the classical masters (Mozart and Beethoven) right through to the 20th century’s finest (Britten, Bartók, Szymanowski) – this Festival is an experience that will be etched in the LSO’s history for many decades to come.

8 Apr: Leonidas Kavakos
12 Apr: Gil Shaham
26 Apr: LSO String Ensemble/Roman Simovic
30 Apr: Midori
3 May: Nicola Benedetti
7 May: Isabelle Faust
12 May: Nikolaj Znaider
24 May: Christian Tetzlaff
2 Jun: Janine Jansen
7 Jun: James Ehnes
10 Jun: Anne-Sophie Mutter
14 Jun: Alina Ibragimova
28 Jun: Joshua Bell

LSO Sing
Getting the City into song

LSO Sing is about much more than attending concerts: In Choral Director Simon Halsey’s words, ‘we want everyone in the City to sing!’. The sheer enjoyment of it is reason enough; moreover, singing is good for you – recent research shows that singing can dramatically increase wellbeing and happiness, and, best of all, it doesn’t cost a penny. So come to a choral concert, take part in a singing day. How you do it is up to you, but make sure to be a part of LSO Sing in 2014/15.

2 Nov: Sally Beamish new work/Gianandrea Noseda
22 Nov: LSO Singing Day – 19th Century Oratorios
26 Nov: London Symphony Chorus - Rachmaninov Vespers
14 Dec: Christmas Concert with LSO Brass and LSC
11 Jan: Schumann Das Paradies und die Peri/Sir Simon Rattle
7 Feb: LSO Singing Day – Duruflé Requiem
1 Mar: Duruflé Requiem/Donald Runnicles
9 May: LSO Singing Day – Brahms Connections
24 May: Brahms German Requiem/Daniel Harding
21 Jun: Beethoven Symphony No 9/Bernard Haitink
5 Jul: Jonathan Dove new work for LSO Youth and Community choirs/Sir Simon Rattle

British Conductors
Home-grown conducting talent

In 2014/15, the LSO will be welcoming the best in home-grown conducting talent to the podium, with visits from six of Britain’s finest and most inspiring maestros. The diverse line-up spans multiple generations of conductors, and will bring a striking mix of repertoire to the Barbican stage.

2 Oct: Sir John Eliot Gardiner
16 Oct: Sir Antonio Pappano
19 Oct: Sir Antonio Pappano
6 Oct: Daniel Harding
7 Dec: Daniel Harding
11 Jan: Sir Simon Rattle
15 Jan: Sir Simon Rattle
25 Jan: Robin Ticciati
5 Feb: Sir Mark Elder
24 May: Daniel Harding
2 Jun: Daniel Harding
2 Jul: Sir Simon Rattle
5 Jul: Sir Simon Rattle