Brahms & Dvorák


Part of the British Conductor series

Thu 2 Jul 2015 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

BRAHMS Piano Concerto No 1
DVORÁK The Wild Dove
DVORÁK Slavonic Dance Op 72 No 4
DVORÁK The Golden Spinning Wheel

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Krystian Zimerman piano
London Symphony Orchestra


Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £28 £38

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Krystian Zimerman, one of the greatest pianists of our time, joins forces with Sir Simon Rattle in Brahms’s magnificent First Piano Concerto, inspired by his grief for Robert Schumann and his awakening passion for Clara, whose 'gentle portrait' emerges in the serene slow movement. Two characterful symphonic tone-poems by Brahms’s protégé Dvořák based on Czech folk legends complete this colourful programme with a distinctive Central European flavour.