Daphnis and Chloe


NB Change of Soloist

Wed 13 Jan 2016 7.30pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

RAVEL Le tombeau de Couperin
DUTILLEUX L'arbre des songes *
DELAGE Four Hindu Poems **
RAVEL Daphnis and Chloe – Suite No 2

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Leonidas Kavakos violin *
Julia Bullock soprano **
London Symphony Orchestra


Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Sir Simon Rattle conducts an evocative programme showcasing French music composed on the cusp of modernity, featuring masterful works by three pre-eminent French composers.

French repertoire is characterised by its unique sense of clarity and balance coupled with an innate sense of craftsmanship, as a conductor Rattle embodies these very same ideals. His approach to this repertoire matches that of the composers themselves, lavishing care and attention on every note.

Delage’s rarely heard Four Hindu Poems, is a set of sparse, jewel-like miniatures for small ensemble and soprano which forms the centrepiece of this programme. It is set alongside masterpieces by Ravel and Dutilleux, including Dutilleux’s exalted violin concerto L’arbre des songes (Tree of Dreams), performed by Leonidas Kavakos, and Ravel’s Daphnis and Chloe Suite No 2, which the composer described as a symphonie choreographique.

Change of artist

Soprano soloist Susan Gritton has withdrawn from the performance of Delage’s Four Hindu Poems at this concert for personal reasons. The LSO is extremely grateful to soprano Julia Bullock for agreeing to step in.

Posted 11 December 2015 10am