2015/16 season closing concert


With Krystian Zimerman

Thu 30 Jun 2016 7.30pm - 9.55pm
Barbican Hall, London

IVES The Unanswered Question
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No 4

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Krystian Zimerman piano
London Symphony Orchestra


Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

For the closing concert of the 15/16 season Sir Simon Rattle conducts a programme exploring the pivotal works of three composers who each innovated in vastly different ways: Ives, Beethoven and Rachmaninov.

Ives’ The Unanswered Question is an American classic that ruminates on the ‘perennial question of existence’. Ever the progressive, Ives’ work divides his ensemble into three independent groups each playing their own distinctive music. Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No 4 broke all concerto conventions when it was first performed, opening with a simple piano solo rather than the expected orchestral tutti. Rachmaninov’s Symphony No 2 re-invigorated the genre; his insistence on looking back to classical models allowed him to stand out at a time when composers were becoming increasingly obsessed with modernity.