LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists

Free pre-concert recitals

LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists are recitals by postgraduate musicians from the Guildhall School, some of whom are studying on the joint Orchestral Artistry course in association with the LSO.

The recitals take place at 6pm (5.30pm on Sundays) in the Barbican Hall before some LSO concerts, are free to attend and do not have to be booked in advance.

Full details of works and artists will be confirmed nearer to the date of the events.

2018/19 recitals

Sunday 14 October 2018, 5.30pm
Barbican Hall
LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
Smetana String Quartet No 1
In this free early evening concert, senior musicians from Guildhall School perform Smetana’s String Quartet No 1, setting the mood for the LSO’s evening concert featuring the composer’s evocative Má Vlast.

Thursday 25 October 2018, 6.00pm
Barbican Hall
LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
A recital of Russian songs
Senior musicians from Guildhall School take to the Barbican stage before LSO concerts with free performances of complementary repertoire.

Thursday 1 November 2018, 6.00pm
Barbican Hall
LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
Kodály Duo
Ionel Manciu violin
Leo Popplewell cello
In this free early evening concert, musicians from Guildhall School take to the Barbican stage with Kodály’s Duo, setting the scene for the LSO’s evening performance of Kodály’s Dances of Galánta.

Wednesday 14 November 2018, 6.00pm
Barbican Hall
LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
Debussy chamber music
In this free early evening concert, musicians from Guildhall School perform Debussy’s String Quartet prior to the LSO evening concert featuring the composer’s Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune.

Sunday 13 January 2019

Sunday 3 March 2019

Thursday 14 March 2019

Thursday 25 April 2019

Sunday 5 May 2019

Thursday 30 May 2019

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

LSO-Platforms-Guildhall cellist