Panufnik Composers Scheme

Panufnik workshop 2018


The Panufnik Composers Scheme offers six emerging composers each year the opportunity to write for a world-class symphony orchestra.

The scheme welcomes composers from a wide range of musical approaches and backgrounds. A diverse selection panel chooses composers who show a high level of compositional ability in writing notated work in contemporary classical or other musical genres, and the potential to write a three-minute full orchestral work for a public workshop.

From 2018 additional support and mentoring will be available to some composers who may have less experience in writing for classical orchestra than others selected for the scheme.

Guided by renowned composer Colin Matthews, and with other mentors offering tailored support, the scheme enables composers to experiment over time and develop their orchestral writing skills. Collaborative musical relationships develop with LSO players, and the resulting compositions are performed and discussed by the LSO and its Principal Guest Conductor François-Xavier Roth, in a public workshop rehearsal.

Two composers from the year are also commissioned to write an additional 10-minute or 5-minute piece, to be played by the LSO in a main-stage LSO concert at the Barbican. LSO Discovery sometimes offers additional commissions for other programme strands, including the Community Choir. See a list of commissions and composers below. 

The Panufnik Composers Scheme was devised by the Orchestra in association with Lady Panufnik in memory of her late husband, the composer Sir Andrzej Panufnik, and is generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and the Helen Hamlyn Trust.

Applications are now closed.

Subscribe below to hear about LSO composing-related news including opportunities to apply for the our composer schemes, invitations to scheme events and showcases, as well as new music ticket offers straight to your inbox.

You will receive occasional emails with details of London Symphony Orchestra composer scheme news, events and offers. Your data will only be used to send you this and any other LSO e-newsletter to which you have subscribed.

Visit to view our Privacy Policy.



First Name


Last name


Keep me up to date with composer-related news, events and offers

Panufnik workshop 20182

Panufnik workshop 20183


'My composer husband, Andrzej Panufnik, received three commissions and recorded most of his symphonic music with the LSO. He worried about how young composers could nowadays attain essential experience with highest level orchestras: this project fulfils his dream.'
Lady Panufnik


2019 Composers

The following composers will be taking part in the 2019 Panufnik Composers Scheme:

Joe Bates
Caroline Bordignon
James Chan
Ninfea Cruttwell-Reade
Louise Drewett
Jonathan Woolgar

Read more about the composers here.


Latest News

2018 commissions awarded
George Stevenson and Joel Järventausta have been award the five- and ten-minute commissions respectively, to be performed in the 2020/21 season. Read more here.

2019 composers announced
Congratuations to Joe Bates, Caroline Bordignon, James Chan, Ninfea Cruttwell-Reade, Louise Drewett and Jonathan Woolgar. Read more about the composers here. The workshop will take place on 26 March 2020 at LSO St Luke's.

Grace-Evangeline Mason commissioned to write for the LSO Community Choir
The LSO is delighted to announce that 2017 Panufnik Composer Grace-Evangeline Mason has been awarded the fourth annual LSO Community Choir Commission, to be premiered in November 2018. Read more here.

2017 commissions awarded
Each year the LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme commissions two participating composers to write works for performance in the LSO's main season. We are delighted to announce that James Hoyle and Sophya Polevaya have been awarded five- and ten-minute commissions respectively, to be performed in the 2019/20 season. Read more here.



Each year two composers from the years' intake are commissioned to write an additional 10-minute or 5-minute commission, to be played by the LSO at a main-stage LSO concert at the Barbican. We are proud of the pantheon of works produced as a result of this scheme since 2007:

10-minute commissions:

Joel Järventausta title tbc
Sophya Polevaya Spellbound Tableaux (world premiere 19 December 2019)
Donghoon Shin Kafka's Dream (world premiere 24 March 2019)
Ewan Campbell Frail Skies (world premiere 25 March 2018)
Jack Sheen Lung (world premiere 25 September 2016)
Elizabeth Ogonek Sleep & Unremembrance (world premiere 13 March 2016)
Aaron Parker 51°58’N/1°19’E-300514 (world premiere 18 December 2014)
Matthew Kaner The Calligrapher's Manuscript (world premiere 19 September 2013)
Edward Nesbit Parallels (world premiere 29 November 2012)
Vlad Maistorovici Halo (world premiere 13 March 2011)
Andrew McCormack Incentive (world premiere 10 December 2009)
Charlie Piper The Twittering Machine (world premiere 26 October 2008)
Jason Yarde All Souls Seek Joy (world premiere 28 November 2007

5 minute commissions:

George Stevenson title tbc
James Hoyle Thymiaterion (world premiere 27 February 2020)
Liam Mattison Violet (world premiere 9 June 2019)
Patrick Giguère Revealing (world premiere 15 April 2018)
Michael Taplin Ebbing Tides (world premiere 14 December 2016)
James Moriarty Windows (world premiere 6 December 2015)
Patrick Brennan Ballabile (world premiere 5 February 2015)
Alastair Putt Spiral (world premiere 12 June 2014)
Eloise Nancie Gynn Anahata (world premiere 24 March 2012)
Francisco Coll Hidd'n Blue (world premiere 15 January 2012)

LSO artist commissions:
Composers commissioned to write a piece for an artist or artists for performance at the Barbican or LSO St Luke’s.

Amy Bryce From First Breath (LSO Community Choir, 2016)
Deborah Pritchard There is a River (LSO Community Choir, 2015)
Alex Roth Elegy (LSO Community Choir, 2014)
Max de Wardener I Bilaskhani Todi (Kala Ramnath & LSO Strings, 2011)
Raymond Yiu Maomao Yu (Lang Lang & Silk Strings, 2009)
Jason Yarde All Souls Seek Joy (Hugh Masekela, 2007)

Scheme alumni

2018: Joel Järventausta*, Cassie Kinoshi, Lara Poe, Ido Romano, George Stevenson~, Alex Tay
2017: James Hoyle~, Grace-Evangeline Mason^, Sophya Polevaya*, Emma Wilde, Alexander Woolf, Han Xu
2016: Benjamin Ashby, Amy Bryce^, Gonçalo Gato, Daniel Kidane, Liam Mattison~, Donghoon Shin*
2015: Patrick Giguère~, Deborah Pritchard^, Daniel Moreira, Daniel-Lewis Fardon, Bethan Morgan-Williams, Ewan Campbell*
2014: Michael Cryne, Michael Cutting, Vitalija Glovacytė, Alex Roth^, Jack Sheen*, Michael Taplin~
2013: Kim Ashton, Benjamin Graves, Jae-Moon Lee, James Moriarty~, Elizabeth Ogonek*, Richard Whalley
2012: Patrick Brennan~, Leo Chadburn, David Coonan, Bushra El-Turk, Ryan Latimer, Aaron Parker*
2011: Matthew Kaner*, Michael Langemann, Joanna Lee, Alastair Putt~, Duncan Ward, Mihyun Woo
2010: Nancie Eloise Gynn~, Cevanne Horrocks-Hopayian, Christopher Mayo, Edward Nesbit*, Dan Stern, Elizabeth Winters~
2009: Edmund Finnis, Francisco Coll Garcia~, Fung Lam, Vlad Maistorovici*, Max de Wardener^, Toby Young
2008: Andrew McCormack*, Joshua Penduck, Matthew Sargeant, Sasha Siem+, Ayanna Witter-Johnson, Raymond Yiu^
2007: Elspeth Brooke, Emily Howard+, Tom Lane, Charlie Piper*, Evis Sammoutis, Anjula Semmens
2006: Larry Goves, Emily Hall+, Christian Mason+^, Matthew Rogers, Martin Suckling+, Jason Yarde*+
2005 (pilot): Daniel Basford, John Douglas Templeton, Philip Venables

*10-minute commission
~5-minute commission
+UBS Soundscapes: Pioneers Commission
^LSO Artist Commission



download unspecified

Blog: A decade of the Panufnik Composers Scheme – where are they now?
Part I | Part II


A history of the LSO's schemes for young composers

The LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme is generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamlyn Trust.