Welcome to new members

Two new members of the LSO have joined us so far in 2015: Alexander Edmundson, joining the Horn section, and Daniel Newell, joining the trumpet section. Both have the title of Co-Principal (No 3) in their respective sections, and join their colleagues Tim Jones, Angela Barnes and Jonathan Lipton (horns) and Philip Cobb and Gerry Ruddock (trumpets). Meet them below:

Alexander Edmundson: Co-Principal (No 3) Horn, joined 6 January 2015

Alex Edmundson

Lancashire born horn player Alex Edmundson studied under Jeffrey Bryant at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama and was a Master of Music student at the Royal College of Music under Simon Rayner. A graduate of our 2012 Brass Academy, Alex was a brass finalist in the 2008 BBC Young Musician of the Year, alongside our very own Co-Principal Trombone Peter Moore (that year's winner).

Daniel Newell: Co-Principal (No 3) Trumpet, joined 18 February 2015

Dan Newell

Dan started playing the trumpet at the age of 5 and studied at Guildhall School of Music and Drama. Dan joined the LSO from the LPO, but has an equally busy career in the film music studios and as a semi-permanent member of Muse, with whom he often tours the stadia of the world. Dan is also the creator of the Billy's Band, a series of music education books, CDs and live events.

Please give them a warm welcome if you see them on stage!