Press release: Roby Lakatos and his ensemble join forces with the LSO


Thursday 5 March 2015
Barbican Hall, London

The London Symphony Orchestra is joined by leading Romani violinist Roby Lakatos and his Ensemble on 5 March in Dance of the Gypsy Violin, a concert featuring music which explores the violin’s wilder side through an array of Hungarian and Gypsy-inspired tunes, conducted by Kristjan Järvi. The programme will include Brahms’ Rondo alla zingarese, Kodály’s Háry János Suite, Sarasate’s Zigeunerweisen and more.

Hungarian Romani virtuoso Roby Lakatos is renowned for his mix of classical music with Hungarian Gypsy music and jazz themes. He is a musician of extraordinary stylistic versatility, a player whose strength as an interpreter derives from his activities as an improviser and composer. He performs worldwide in the great venues and festivals of Europe, Asia and America. The concert on 5 March will be a dazzling evening of Hungarian dances and Gypsy-inspired tunes performed by Roby Lakatos and his Ensemble together with the LSO.

Grammy award-winning Kristjan Järvi has been described in the New York Times as ‘a kinetic force on the podium, like Leonard Bernstein reborn’. He is renowned for his inventive programming, brave collaborations and interweaving of cultures and genres with many of the most esteemed composers of our time. Kristjan Järvi last conducted the LSO with oud player Dhafer Youssef in April 2014 at the Barbican, part of a series of concerts looking at world- and jazz-inspired music with the LSO.

Dance of the Gypsy Violin comes just ahead of the LSO International Violin Festival which, between April and June, presents some of the world’s greatest violinists, from young performers to established masters.

For further press information please contact:
Dvora Lewis Public Relations
Tel: 020 7435 9257
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Thursday 5 March 7.30pm, Barbican Hall
Programme includes:
Brahms arr Schoenberg Piano Quartet in G minor
Kodaly Hary Janos – Suite
Leo Weiner Fox Dance
Traditional Deux Guitares
Vladimir Cosma Le Grand Blond
John Williams Schindler's List
Csampi / Bihary Memory of Bihary / Hejre Kati

Kristjan Järvi conductor
Roby Lakatos violin
London Symphony Orchestra
Roby Lakatos Ensemble

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £28 £38 (£5 under-18s) + booking fee (£3 online, £4 by phone)
Secure online booking:
Barbican Box Office: 020 7638 8891 (Mon – Sat 10am – 8pm, Sun 11am – 8pm)
In person at the Barbican Advance Box Office (Mon – Sat 10am – 9pm; Sun 12pm – 9pm)