Panufnik Composers Scheme 2015 Commissions Announced

The LSO is delighted to announce the names of the two 2015 Panufnik Composers Scheme composers who have received five- and ten-minute commissions for performance in the LSO's 2017/18 season.

Each year since 2009 the LSO's Panufnik Composers Scheme (established in 2005) has commissioned two of its six participating composers to create five- and ten-minute works for inclusion in the LSO’s main season at the Barbican. These commissions are intended to support emerging composers at a critical stage in their careers, providing them with the time, resources and support to develop their musical ideas and orchestral writing.

Following the 2015 scheme workshop on 11 March 2016 the LSO is delighted to announce the names of the two composers who will be receiving this year’s commissions for performance in the 2017/18 season.

Ewan Campbell  

Ewan Campbell
receives this year’s ten-minute Panufnik commission. His work Three Glimpses took on the challenge of writing a work just three minutes long by imagining each of his three movements as just a snippet of a much larger piece of music. On being part of the Panufnik Scheme Ewan has said:

'Working with the LSO over the past 18 months and composing a set of concise orchestral glimpses has been an inspiring and formative experience. I am exhilarated at the prospect of continuing to work with this exciting orchestra, and am hugely honoured to have the opportunity to write a more extended work over the next year.'

Patrick Giguere  

Patrick Giguère
 receives this year’s five-minute Panufnik commission. l'heure de s'enriver ('time to drink') describes a three-stage arc from one emotional state to another. On receiving the commission Patrick has said:

'After such an exciting year with the LSO, it is a great honor for me to write again for these fantastic musicians. During the composition of my next piece for the orchestra, I intend to follow François-Xavier Roth's excellent advice: be bold, adventurous, intense and make no compromise!'

Both works will be publicly workshopped on 20 April 2017 alongside three-minute works by the 2016 Panufnik composers Benjamin Ashby, Amy Bryce, Gonçalo Gato, Daniel Kidane, Liam Mattison and Donghoon Shin.