Announcing the 2017 LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme Commissions

The LSO is delighted to announce the two 2017 Panufnik Composers who receive five- and ten-minute commissions for performance in the LSO's 2019/20 season.

Each year since 2009 the LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme (established in 2005) has commissioned two of its six participating composers to create five- and ten-minute works for performance in the LSO’s main Barbican season. These commissions support emerging composers at a critical stage in their careers, providing them with the time, resources and support to develop their musical ideas and orchestral writing.

Following the 2017 composers' public workshop on Sunday 18 March 2018 the London Symphony Orchestra is delighted to announce the two composers who will be receiving this year’s commissions for performance in the 2019/20 season:

LSO Panufnik 2018 W8A5604 400x400 webJames Hoyle

James Hoyle receives this year’s five-minute Panufnik commission. His piece Marangona was inspired by the sound of the bell it is named after, the largest to ring out from the red-brick bell tower of St Mark’s Basilica in Venice’s Piazza San Marco. His five-minute commission will follow the same campanological theme, exploring the sonorities of bells and bell-ringing.


Sophya Polevaya 400x400 webSophya Polevaya

Sophya Polevaya receives the ten-minute Panufnik commission. She will expand her existing three-minute work, a compositional response to Alfred Hitchock’s 1945 film Spellbound, “Plain, ordinary, wishful dreaming …”. The work is segmented into three movements, with each viewing the film from a separate angle, as she homes in on the themes of dreams, identity and mortality.


Before their premieres both new works will be publicly workshopped on Monday 25 March 2019 alongside three-minute works by the 2018 Panufnik composers Joel Järventausta, Cassie Kinoshi, Lara Poe, Ido Romano, George Stevenson and Alex Tay.

The LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme is generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamlyn Trust.

Photo (James Hoyle): Kevin Leighton