2018/19 season

September 2018–July 2019, Barbican Centre

Season themes

Rattle   Noseda   Roth 500


Sir Simon Rattle: Roots & Origins
'This season's thread is folk music and music from the land – our 'roots'. Roots can be many things: a Ländler in Schubert, jazz in American music, or looking back to earlier styles to draw inspiration.

> Read more about this series

 


Gianandrea Noseda: Homelands
'As artists, we can bring people together by showing how many influences our roots have on music. It is important to go back to our origins, because if we experience how art relates to traditional cultures and how we belong to those traditions, we can be open to other cultures.'

> Read more about this series

 


François-Xavier Roth: Back to the Future
'Music in Europe at the crossover of the 19th and 20th centuries inspires me greatly – it spread in so many different directions.'

> Read more about this series

1819Artistportraits   NewMusicBritain   Gloria


Artist Portraits:
Daniil Trifonov & Barbara Hannigan
A piano virtuoso with a 'demonstrably prize-winning technique' (New York Times) and a soprano turned conductor who is 'just impossible to resist' (Financial Times).

> Read more about this series

 


New Music Britain
The isle is full of noises, from several hundred composers born this century. Hugely diverse, thes composers have two things in common: an awareness of the tradition of British music and the rhythms of the English language.

> Read more about this series

 


Gloria: Choral Highlights
'Puccini is a composer that I feel particularly close to, perhaps because of his contradictions,' says conductor Sir Antonio Pappano; 'I recorded the Messa di Gloria with the LSO in 2001 – it's a beautiful recording – and I remember at the time it was a real labour of love.'

> Read more about this series

Barbican Concerts

Most concerts begin at either 7.30pm or 7pm on Sundays. Please carefully check for start times as some differ.

September 2018

> Sunday 16 September: New Music Britain/Sir Simon Rattle
> Tuesday 18 September: Britten Spring Symphony/Sir Simon Rattle
> Wednesday 19 September: Sir Simon Rattle/Janine Jansen

October 2018

> Sunday 14 October: Czech Roots/Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider
> Sunday 21 October: Jaime Martín/Christian Tetzlaff
> Thursday 25 October: Philippe Jordan/Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider

November 2018

> Thursday 1 November: Gianandrea Noseda/Peter Moore
> Sunday 4 November: James MacMillan premiere/Gianandrea Noseda
> Sunday 11 November: Haydn Nelson Mass/François-Xavier Roth
> Tuesday 13 November: Half Six Fix – Also sprach Zarathustra
> Wednesday 14 November: François-Xavier Roth/Jean-Guihen Queyras
> Thursday 22 November: Donatella Flick LSO Conducting Competition Final
> Thursday 29 November: Divine Geometry/Kristjan Järvi/Simone Dinnerstein

December 2018

> Sunday 2 December: A Choral Christmas
> Saturday 8 December: Candide (concert performance) matinée
> Sunday 9 December: Candide (concert performance) evening
> Wednesday 12 December: Half Six Fix – Jazz Roots
> Thursday 13 December: Folk Roots, Urban Roots/Sir Simon Rattle/Labèque Sisters
> Sunday 16 December: Sir Simon Rattle/Leonidas Kavakos
> Tuesday 18 December: Sir Simon Rattle/Leonidas Kavakos

January 2019

> Sunday 5 January: National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain
> Wednesday 9 January: Half Six Fix – Sibelius Symphony No 7
> Thursday 10 January: Sir Simon Rattle/Barbara Hannigan
> Sunday 13 January: Bruckner Symphony No 6/Sir Simon Rattle
> Sunday 20 January: Bruckner Symphony No 6/Sir Simon Rattle

 

February 2019

> Thursday 7 February: Gardiner's Schumann: Symphony No 3
> Sunday 10 February: Gardiner's Schumann: Symphony No 1
> Sunday 17 February: Artist Portrait – Daniil Trifonov/Sir Simon Rattle
> Thursday 28 February: Lahav Shani/Simon Trpceski

March 2019

> Sunday 3 March: Puccini Mass/Sir Antonio Pappano
> Sunday 10 March: Bernard Haitink 90th birthday concert
> Thursday 14 March: Haitink at 90/Mahler Symphony No 4
> Sunday 17 March: Barbara Hannigan sings and conducts
> Thursday 21 March: Haitink at 90/Mahler Symphony No 4
> Sunday 24 March: Poem of Ecstasy/François-Xavier Roth
> Wednesday 27 March: Half Six Fix – Shostakovich & Strauss
> Thursday 28 March: Russian Roots/Gianandrea Noseda
> Sunday 31 March: Diana Damrau sings Strauss

April 2019

> Sunday 14 April: Sir Mark Elder/Kirill Gerstein
> Thursday 25 April: Ravel/François-Xavier Roth

May 2019

> Wednesday 1 May: Harrison Birtwistle/Sir Simon Rattle
> Sunday 5 May: Berlioz 150/Sir Simon Rattle
> Wednesday 8 May: Mahler Symphony No 5/Sir Simon Rattle
> Thursday 30 May: Michael Tilson Thomas/Julia Fischer

June 2019

> Sunday 2 June: Artist Portrait – Daniil Trifonov/Michael Tilson Thomas
> Thursday 6 June: One Night, One Thousand and One Stories/LSO Discovery
> Sunday 9 June: Elim Chan/Alice Sara Ott
> Monday 10 June: Artist Portrait – Daniil Trifonov solo recital
> Sunday 16 June: Artist Portrait – Daniil Trifonov/Gianandrea Noseda
> Thursday 20 June: LSO & Guildhall School Side-by-Side/Sir Simon Rattle
> Thursday 27 June: The Cunning Little Vixen (semi-staged)
> Saturday 29 June: The Cunning Little Vixen (semi-staged)

 

Family Concerts
Barbican Hall

All concerts start at 2.30pm
Suitable for 7- to 12-year-olds

Saturday 27 October 2018
Sunday 27 January 2019
Saturday 1 June 2019


Free Friday Lunchtime Concert series

LSO St Luke's

All concerts start at 12.30pm

2018

Landscapes

> Friday 7 September
> Friday 5 October
> Friday 19 October
> Friday 23 November

2019

Futures

> Friday 4 January
> Friday 1 February
> Friday 15 February
> Friday 22 March

Origins

> Friday 26 April
> Friday 17 May
> Friday 21 June
> Friday 19 July

 

Singing Days
LSO St Luke's

All Singing Days start at 11am

> Sunday 30 September 2018: Haydn Nelson Mass
> Sunday 25 November 2018: Puccini Mass
> Sunday 10 March 2019: Vaughan Williams & Ireland

Discovery Days
Barbican Hall & LSO St Luke's

All Discovery Days begin at 10am

> Sunday 4 November 2018: James MacMillan
> Sunday 13 January 2019: Bartók
> Sunday 3 March 2019: Italian vocal music
> Sunday 2 June 2019: Charles Ives

Soundhub Showcases
LSO St Luke's

All Showcases begin at 7pm

> Saturday 9 February 2019
> Saturday 20 July 2019

Panufnik Composers Workshop
LSO St Luke's

> Monday 25 March 2019

BBC Radio 3 Open Ear
LSO St Luke's

All concerts start at 7.30pm

Saturday 29 September 2018
Saturday 26 January 2019
Saturday 13 April 2019


BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concerts

LSO St Luke's

All Lunchtime concerts start at 1pm; Rush-Hour concerts at 6.30pm

2018

Artist Spotlights

Lunchtime Concerts
> Friday 14 September: Ingrid Fliter
> Friday 21 September: Vikingur Ólafsson

Rush-Hour Concerts
> Friday 14 September: Anne Queffélec
> Friday 21 September: Simone Dinnerstein

War's Embers

> Friday 12 October: Nash Ensemble
> Friday 26 October: Nash Ensemble
> Friday 2 November: Ashley Wass
> Friday 9 November: Nash Ensemble

 

 

2019

Les Sonores de France

Friday 22 February: Adam Walker & Alasdair Beatson
Friday 1 March: Carolyn Sampson & Joseph Middleton
Friday 29 March: Quatuor Van Kuijk
Friday 5 April: Ensemble Nevermind

Alice Sara Ott & Friends

Lunchtime concerts
Friday 3 May: with Ray Chen
Friday 24 May: with Nemanja Radulovic, Andreas Ottensamer & Kian Soltani

Rush-Hour concerts
Friday 3 May: with Ray Chen & Pablo Ferrández
Friday 24 May: with Francesco Tristano

Czech Roots

> Friday 10 May: Christian Ihle Hadland
Friday 31 May: Chloe Hanslip & Danny Driver
Friday 7 June: LSO Wind Ensemble
Friday 14 June: Meccore Quartet

 

 


Booking fees

Booking fees are per transaction and not per ticket. The fee includes the first class postage of your tickets if time permits.

Barbican Centre: £3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee 
LSO St Luke's: £0.60 online booking fee, £0.70 telephone booking fee

Full details of ticket prices, multibuy discounts, booking fees and group booking discounts


Create your season

Whether you are a familiar face or trying a classical concert for the first time, we have a range of ticket prices available alongside a variety of different ways to save.

 Icon Wildcard 71 100

Wildcard Tickets for £10

 

 Icon HSF 71 100

Half Six Fix

 

 Icon Groups 100

Great for Groups

 

Icon Students U18s 100

Young People


Always Moving
The feature artwork in this film and below has the LSO's music directly embedded within it. Sir Simon Rattle was filmed conducting excerpts from Elgar’s Variations on an Original Theme, ‘Enigma’ using motion-capture technology. The data from this capture has been artistically developed into an animated short film of a journey through abstract landscapes.

LSO Visual Identity and Concept: The Partners
Feature Artwork: Mainframe
Motion Capture: University of Portsmouth, Vicon Motion Systems Ltd

How to book

Online

Click on the links to browse each concert or download the PDF of the listings

download generic2018/19 season listings (PDF)

By phone

Call +44 20 7638 8891

In person

At Advance Box Office, Level G, Barbican