Cevanne Horrocks-Hopayian's Khadambi's House project is shortlisted for British Composer Award

Khadambi’s House’ has made the shortlist for the British Composer Awards! It’s my chamber work from the residency with the LSO and National Trust at 575 Wandsworth Road.

I am thrilled, and so grateful to the LSO for nominating my music. This residency has been one of the most supportive and creative experiences of my career so far. Much of that is thanks to the founder of the scheme, and current patron of LSO Soundhub, Susie Thomson.

Here is a video of Susie sitting with me in Khadambi’s kitchen, where we first met, introduced by Soundhub years ago. The LSO filmed this conversation we had just before the première of the chamber work:

Whether or not ‘Khadambi’s House’ wins the final award, this boost of confidence has inspired me to make it into an album. I’m gradually making plans, and getting to grips with the scale, which is much larger than my previous recording projects.

I would be very glad to hear from enthusiasts, composers, or producers who have any tips! I have a feeling that it will be important to create physical copies of the recording, and package them in a way which honours the house… What do you think?

Meanwhile I’ll leave you with the LSO St Luke’s performance of the third movement of the nominated work, The Swallow.

Soprano – Ziazan Horrocks-Hopayian
Violin – Tom Norris
Viola – Anna Bastow
Violoncello – Rebecca Gilliver
Double Bass – Jani Pensola

Swallow, swallow
Fine bird of Spring!
Where are you flying,
So fast?

Text – Gevorg Dodokhian

Congratulations also to Ben Gaunt, whose Empty Hand, Peaceful Mind for karate practitioner and two musicians has been nominated for an award in the Stage Works category. The piece was written as part of the LSO Soundhub scheme. Read all about it here.

Congratulations to all the alumni of the Panufnik Composers Scheme and LSO Soundhub who have received British Composer Award nominations today. We are proud to have so many composers producing such great work:
Robin Haigh (LSO Soundhub Member 2017/18)
Leo Chadburn (Panufnik Composers Scheme 2012)
Helen Grime (Sound Adventures 2005)
Emily Howard (Panufnik Composer Scheme 2007)
Tansy Davies (Sound Adventures 2005)
Christian Mason (Panufnik Composer Scheme 2006 and current Composition Support)
Deborah Pritchard (Panufnik Composer Scheme 2015)

And finally! We're thrilled that Sir Peter Maxwell Davies' opera for children The Hogboon, the last opera Max wrote before he died in March 2016 and which we premiered posthumusly in June, has been nominated for an award in the Amateur or Young Performers category. 

The piece was performed by a large mixed-ability group of singers and musicians which included the LSO, Guildhall School of Music & Drama, LSO Discovery Choirs and London Symphony Chorus, as well as a group of professional solo singers. 

The British Composer awards will be announced at a ceremony at the British Museum on Wednesday 6 December.

Where can you find us?

Watching YouTube on your TV?

Follow our instructions to access concerts via the YouTube app.
> Follow the instructions to watch on your TV

Programme notes

Our programme notes are available to read digitally for free, and will be available for the whole season.
> Find programme notes