MTT 70th Birthday Tour: San Francisco


On tour

Sun 22 Mar 2015 7.00pm - 10.00pm
Davies Symphony Hall, San Francisco

BRITTEN Four Sea Interludes
SHOSTAKOVICH Concerto No 1 for Piano, Trumpet and Strings
SIBELIUS Symphony No 2

Michael Tilson Thomas conductor
Yuja Wang piano
Philip Cobb trumpet
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: for more information and tickets please visit the San Francisco Symphony website.

Britten’s atmospheric Four Sea Interludes preface another appearance by 26-year-old Yuja Wang, critically hailed as 'the most dazzlingly, uncannily gifted pianist in the concert world today'. Russian piano music is central to her repertoire, and here she tackles Shostakovich’s lively First Piano Concerto, with its cheeky trumpet obbligato. Sibelius’s majestic Second Symphony provides a rousing conclusion to this celebratory occasion.