Leonidas Kavakos plays Shostakovich


LSO International Violin Festival

Wed 8 Apr 2015 7.30pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

SHOSTAKOVICH Violin Concerto No 1
LISZT A Faust Symphony

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Leonidas Kavakos violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £28 £38

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees


LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 6pm, free entry
Shostakovich chamber music

The LSO’s International Violin Festival, featuring twelve of the world’s greatest violinists playing the cream of concertos, kicks off with a performance of Shostakovich’s First Concerto by the celebrated Greek violinist Leonidas Kavakos, a popular visiting artist with the LSO. Gianandrea Noseda couples the concerto with Liszt’s three-movement musical portrait of the main protagonists in Goethe’s famous drama - Faust himself, his lover Gretchen, and his diabolical nemesis Mephistopheles.