James Ehnes plays Korngold


LSO International Violin Festival

Sun 7 Jun 2015 7.30pm - 9.20pm
Barbican Hall, London

BARTÓK Divertimento for Strings
KORNGOLD Violin Concerto
RACHMANINOV Symphonic Dances

Marin Alsop conductor
James Ehnes violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £28 £38

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees


LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 6pm, free entry

Pablo Hernán Benedi violin
Michael Petrov cello
Erdem Misirlioğlu piano

Canadian virtuoso James Ehnes has been hailed as the 'Jascha Heifetz of our day', so his choice of the Korngold Violin Concerto is most appropriate. Korngold’s lush, romantic score, much of its material a skilful reworking of themes from his film music, was originally premiered by Heifetz in 1947. Marin Alsop teams the Concerto with two other works of the 1940s, Bartók’s spiky Divertimento for strings and Rachmaninov’s farewell to symphonic composition.

download unspecifiedBlog: Korngold's Violin Concerto: from the Silver Screen to the Concert Hall