Mahler Symphony No 4


NB Change of Programme

Sun 20 Sep 2015 7.00pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No 4
MAHLER Symphony No 4

Bernard Haitink conductor
Murray Perahia piano
Anna Lucia Richter soprano
London Symphony Orchestra


Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

The previously advertised pre-concert recital on 20 September is no longer taking place.

RecClassicfm 110 2013

Under the baton of conductor Bernard Haitink, the LSO explores a pair of works by two great Viennese composers.

Beethoven's Piano Concerto No 4 opens the concert, performed by world-renowned pianist Murray Perahia.

There are few conductors as cherished and respected – by musicians, critics and listeners alike – as Bernard Haitink. Numbered among the LSO’s closest collaborators, he was recently described in The Times as ‘peerless as a Mahler conductor’; experience his definitive take on the Fourth Symphony for yourself to close the programme.

Change of programme

In a change to the programme originally published, the first half of this concert will now feature pianist Murray Perahia performing Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No 4, in place of Schubert’s Symphony No 8 (‘Unfinished’). This change is a result of unforeseen scheduling issues with Mr Perahia’s concerts with the LSO in the autumn.

The second half of the programme, Mahler’s Fourth Symphony, remains unchanged. 

Posted Thu 4 Jun 2015 12.30pm