Brahms Symphony No 1



Wed 23 Sep 2015 7.30pm - 9.55pm
Barbican Hall, London

PURCELL arr STUCKY Funeral Music for Queen Mary
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No 1
BRAHMS Symphony No 1

Bernard Haitink conductor
Imogen Cooper piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

bbc radio 3

Broadcast live on BBC Radio 3

Conductor Bernard Haitink and pianist Imogen Cooper make up a powerful musical partnership in this concert, matching a sparkling Beethoven Concerto with Purcell and Brahms.

The three works promise to take listeners on a journey of musical moods, starting with moving funeral music by Purcell, recreated for a modern orchestra, and concluding with Brahms’ milestone First Symphony, 20 years in the making.

Now in his seventh decade of conducting, Bernard Haitink has been a great friend of the LSO for many years, with collaborations encompassing regular returns to the Barbican, international tours, and numerous award-winning recordings. Following this mini-series of three concerts, which launches the LSO’s 2015/16 season, he leads the Orchestra on a tour of Japan.

Change of soloist

Due to unforeseen scheduling issues with his concerts in the autumn, Murray Perahia is now unable to perform in the LSO concert on 23 September and has been forced to move this appearance, featuring Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No 4, into the concert on Sunday 20 September.

The concert on Wednesday 23 September will now feature pianist Imogen Cooper, a long-standing collaborator of the LSO’s, performing Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No 1. The rest of the programme remains unchanged.

Posted Thu 4 Jun 2015 12.30pm