The Firebird


Part of Valery Gergiev: Man of the Theatre

Fri 9 Oct 2015 7.30pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

BARTÓK Dance Suite
BARTÓK Piano Concerto No 2
STRAVINSKY The Firebird (complete ballet)

Valery Gergiev conductor
Yefim Bronfman piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Generously supported by Jonathan Moulds CBE

LSO Principal Conductor Valery Gergiev pours his famously magnetic energy into a programme of three coruscating works, centred on Stravinsky’s ballet The Firebird.

He begins by delving into the vibrant, exhilarating world of Hungarian composer Bartók in the folkloric Dance Suite, with virtuoso pianist Yefim Bronfman taking on the percussive Second Piano Concerto. The dazzling orchestration and fairy-tale story of Stravinsky’s ballet score provides a thrilling finale.

Gergiev is renowned for his expertise in bringing to life the drama of operatic and theatrical repertoire, having held the position of Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Mariinsky Theatre since 1988. He draws on these roots for this mini-series of three concerts with the LSO, which marks the final instalment of his tenure as the Orchestra’s Principal Conductor.