The Rite of Spring


Please note start time

Sun 11 Oct 2015 7.00pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

STRAVINSKY Symphony in C
BARTÓK Piano Concerto No 3
STRAVINSKY The Rite of Spring

Valery Gergiev conductor
Yefim Bronfman piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

RecClassicfm 110 2013

Conductor Valery Gergiev draws on his theatrical roots and ear for drama in the second of three concerts, placing the spotlight on Stravinsky’s iconic ballet The Rite of Spring.

Exploring Bartók and Stravinsky side-by-side, Gergiev brings together three works with diverse, fascinating inspirations: folk music and chirruping birds in Bartók’s Third Piano Concerto, the Classical period in Stravinsky’s Symphony in C, and a depiction of a pagan rite in The Rite of Spring.

In this series of three concerts, Valery Gergiev marks the end of his tenure as Principal Conductor of the LSO, a position he has held since 2007. He returns to the dramatic repertoire that he excels in – ballet scores by Stravinsky and Bartók, placed alongside orchestral works and concertos.