Wynton Marsalis Violin Concerto


World Premiere

Fri 6 Nov 2015 7.30pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

BERNSTEIN Prelude, Fugue and Riffs
WYNTON MARSALIS Concerto in D (world premiere)
STRAVINSKY Symphony in Three Movements
BERNSTEIN Chichester Psalms

James Gaffigan conductor
Nicola Benedetti violin
Chris Richards clarinet
Ben Hill boy treble
London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey chorus director
London Symphony Orchestra


Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

download generic

Download tonight's programme (PDF)



download unspecifiedInterview: Nicola Benedetti and Wynton Marsalis


LSO Discovery Open Rehearsal
Thu 5 Nov 2015 3.30pm–6.30pm, LSO St Luke's
> More information and tickets

A concert of all-American connections and more than a touch of jazz, under the baton of one of the most exciting young American conductors working today.

Stravinsky’s first major work after emigrating to the United States in 1939 is shot through with striking syncopations, not unlike Bernstein’s much more overtly jazzy opener for big band written just a few years later. A different side of Bernstein is found in the Hebrew setting of the Chichester Psalms, but the highlight of the evening is the first performance of a new violin concerto from one of the greatest jazz minds of the modern era, Wynton Marsalis, whose Swing Symphony the LSO premiered in 2012.