Bruckner Symphony No 9


with Daniel Harding

Wed 16 Dec 2015 7.30pm - 10.15pm
Barbican Hall, London

BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No 3
BRUCKNER Symphony No 9 (1894 Ed Nowak 1951 + Finale (unfinished). Performing Version by Samale-Phillips-Cohrs-Mazzuca (1983–2012))

Daniel Harding conductor
Maria João Pires piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

For their second concert together, Daniel Harding and Maria João Pires turn to the middle of Beethoven’s five piano concertos and the last of Bruckner’s nine symphonies.

Written during a busy period, Beethoven did not have time to finish writing out his Third Concerto, instead performing the premiere largely from memory. The result was a surprising and imaginative work that pushed forward the way in which composers wrote for piano.