Shakespeare 400

Thu 25 Feb 2016 7.30pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

LISZT Piano Concerto No 2
TCHAIKOVSKY Overture: Romeo and Juliet

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Simon Trpčeski piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the 2015/16 season

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

For the second concert of a trio marking the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare’s death, Gianandrea Noseda, leads the LSO for more music inspired by Shakespeare.

An evening of history and tragedy begins with Smetana’s interpretation of Richard III’s rise to power and eventual downfall, before Simon Trpceski, joins the stage to perform Liszt’s Piano Concerto No 2. The concert continues with Tchaikovsky’s first masterpiece, his fantasy-overture Romeo and Juliet, the musical portrayal of the star-crossed lovers for which he drew on emotions from his own romantic misadventure, before moving on to Strauss’ dramatic Macbeth to finish the evening with a flourish.