• List view
  • Grid view
  • Select view:

Events Calendar

Wed 16 Mar 2016 7.30pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

Composer Focus: Thomas Adès
with Christian Tetzlaff

SIBELIUS Violin Concerto
FRANCK Symphony in D minor

Thomas Adès conductor
Christian Tetzlaff violin
London Symphony Orchestra

In recent years composer-conductor Thomas Adès has become an unstoppable creative force. In this LSO composer focus series he conducts his own works alongside the music that influenced and informed his development as a composer.

Adès’ Asyla is a four movement symphonic tour-de-force that explores the dual meaning of its title; ‘Asyla’ can be taken to mean both ‘sanctuary’ and ‘madhouse’. Its infamous third movement ‘Ecstasio’ evokes the primal, drug influenced atmosphere of a nightclub with its lucid orchestral textures and repetitive structures inspired by techno.

Asyla is presented alongside two works Adès has cited as being essential to its creation. Echoes of the glistening, crystalline textures of Sibelius’ Violin Concerto can be heard throughout Asyla and much of Adès’ output. The haunting slow movement of Franck’s lyrical Symphony in D minor provides a skeletal model around which the second movement of Asyla is formed.

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the 2015/16 season

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)