Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto


Alan Gilbert debut

Sun 3 Apr 2016 7.00pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

NIELSEN Overture: Masquerade
SIBELIUS Symphony No 3
ANDERS HILLBORG Exquisite Corpse
TCHAIKOVSKY Violin Concerto

Alan Gilbert conductor
Joshua Bell violin
London Symphony Orchestra


Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 5.30pm, free entry

NIELSEN Wind Quintet

Alexandra Griffiths flute
Laura Campbell oboe
Rachel Coe clarinet
Sian Collins horn
Antonia Lazenby bassoon


download audioListen: Sibelius Symhony No 3 on LSO Live


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

This concert is supported by:



RecClassicfm 110 2013


Part of the 2015/16 season

For his LSO debut, Alan Gilbert will conduct a pair of concerts featuring works by Scandinavian and Russian composers.

Gilbert will join forces with the most celebrated American-born violinist of today, Joshua Bell, to perform a work that was once dismissed as unplayable: Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto. The programme also includes Sibelius’ triumphant Third Symphony, which marked a significant turning point in the composer’s career from romantic works to symphonies of more austere complexity, Hillborg’s Exquisite Corpse, which is dedicated to Gilbert, and one of Nielsen’s most performed works, the Overture from Masquerade.