The Dream of Gerontius


Remembering the Battle of the Somme

Sun 24 Apr 2016 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

ELGAR The Dream of Gerontius

Sir Mark Elder conductor
Alice Coote mezzo-soprano
Allan Clayton tenor
Gerald Finley bass
London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey chorus director
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 5.30pm, free entry

BRITTEN The Canticles

Canticle 1
James Way tenor
Dylan Perez piano

Canticle 3
Adam Sullivan tenor
Matthew Horn horn
Dylan Perez piano

Canticle 4
Adam Sullivan tenor
Jean-Max Lattemann countertenor
Jake Muffett baritone
Dylan Perez piano


download audioListen: Elgar The Dream of Gerontius on LSO Live


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)


Part of the 2015/16 season

Set to Cardinal Newman’s poem tracing a man's journey from faithful life to redemptive death, Elgar’s music for his finest choral work is at once brilliantly virtuosic, passionate and inspiring.

100 years after the LSO performed the work in the May 1916 'Festival Gerontius', conceived by Sir Henry Wood to entertain the people of London despite the chaos of Zeppelin attacks, the Orchestra returns to the work that so succinctly describes the feelings of loss and hope in the face of death that prevailed at the time: ‘Farewell, but not for ever!’

download unspecifiedBlog: how The Dream of Gerontius saved the London Symphony Orchestra