Elias Quartet and Huw Watkins


BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert/Elgar Up Close

Thu 28 Apr 2016 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Jerwood Hall, LSO St Luke's, London

STRAVINSKY Three pieces for String Quartet
ELGAR Piano Quintet in A minor

Elias Quartet
Huw Watkins piano

Tickets: £12 (£10 concessions)

Multi-buy savings
Tickets are £9 per ticket when any 4 (or more) BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concerts are booked at the same time. NB all four concerts must be from the same season.

£0.60 online booking fee, £0.70 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the 2015/16 season

The Elias String Quartet and Huw Watkins continue the series of Elgar's chamber music with his dramatic Piano Quintet.

This third programme of the BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert series featuring Elgar contrasts his moving final chamber work, the Piano Quintet, with Stravinsky's first-ever chamber music, composed not long before: the sunset of Romanticism meets the dawn of Neoclassicism.

The Elias Quartet return to LSO St Lukes next Thursday for the final concert of the series, coupling Elgar's only String Quartet with great English string music from the seventeenth century: Fantasias by Henry Purcell.