Artist Portrait: Leif Ove Andsnes


NB Change of Conductor

Sun 8 May 2016 7.00pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

MOZART Piano Concerto No 20 *
BRUCKNER Symphony No 3 (Third Version of 1889, ed Nowak 1959) †

Leif Ove Andsnes piano/director *
Claus Peter Flor conductor 
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the 2015/16 season

Bruckner dedicated his third symphony to fellow composer Wagner, of whom he was unashamedly in awe. By his own admission, Andsnes ‘came very late’ to Mozart’s piano concertos: ‘I somehow was not mature enough to enjoy this music fully … now it is the greatest joy to play.’ Mozart’s gift, unmatched by anyone since, was to make music of exquisite beauty and craftsmanship appear effortless; but so much lies underneath the trademark serene simplicity.

Change of Conductor

Conductor Daniel Harding is ill and has been forced to withdraw from the LSO’s concert at the Barbican on Sunday 8 May. 

The LSO is extremely grateful to soloist Leif Ove Andsnes, who will now play/direct Mozart’s Piano Concerto No 20 from the keyboard in the first half of the concert, and conductor Claus Peter Flor, who has agreed to step in at very short notice to conduct Bruckner’s Symphony No 3 in the second half.

The overall programme remains the same. However, please note that the second half of the concert will now feature the Third Version of Bruckner’s Third Symphony (1889, ed Nowak 1959), instead of the First Version.

Posted 10.30am, Friday 6 May 2016