Artist Portrait: Leif Ove Andsnes


Schumann Piano Concerto

Thu 12 May 2016 7.30pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

SCHUMANN Piano Concerto
BEETHOVEN Symphony No 9 ('Choral')

Michael Tilson Thomas conductor
Leif Ove Andsnes piano
Lucy Crowe soprano
Christine Rice mezzo-soprano
Toby Spence tenor
Iain Paterson baritone
London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey chorus director
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Beethoven’s symphony-to-end-all-symphonies is prefaced by Schumann’s Piano Concerto, featuring star of the LSO’s 2015/16 Artist Portrait, Leif Ove Andsnes.

Frequently dubbed the greatest piece of all time, Beethoven’s Symphony No 9 radiates with the optimism of humanity and triumph over adversity. That Beethoven was completely deaf at this point in his life is no less astonishing in 2014 than it was at the 1824 premiere. Robert Schumann’s virtuoso wife Clara was the original soloist for his only piano concerto; here, internationally celebrated Norwegian pianist Leif Ove Andsnes takes on the challenge.