Mahler Symphony No 6


With Sir Antonio Pappano

Thu 19 May 2016 7.30pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

SHOSTAKOVICH Violin Concerto No 1
MAHLER Symphony No 6

Sir Antonio Pappano conductor
Viktoria Mullova violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 6pm, free entry

SHOSTAKOVICH String Quartet No 8

Apollo String Quartet:
Savitri Grier violin
Catherine Poplyansky violin
Alexander McFarlane viola
Leander Kippenberg cello


download audioListen: Mahler Symphony No 6 on LSO Live


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)


Part of the 2015/16 season


bbc radio 3

Broadcast live on BBC Radio 3


Also in this series:

Sun 31 Jan 2016:
A Roman Trilogy

Sun 29 May 2016:
Beethoven Violin Concerto

Two complex and brooding works by Mahler and Shostakovich are the focus of Sir Antonio Pappano’s concert with the LSO.

With his roots firmly in the theatrical tradition of the opera-houses, Pappano is the ideal conductor for concert works of great emotional depth and urgency. His baton can tease out even the most elusive of emotive subtexts, a quality that is vital when interpreting the intense and dramatic works of Mahler and Shostakovich.

Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No 1 is a virtuoso tour-de-force composed during a time of personal and political unrest, it is widely considered to be one of the most significant contributions to the violin repertoire of the twentieth century. Mahler’s Symphony No 6 is popularly known as the composer’s ‘Tragic’ symphony, its final movement is punctuated by three devastating ‘hammer-blows’ that represent the inescapable force of fate.