Beethoven Violin Concerto


with Nikolaj Znaider

Sun 29 May 2016 7.00pm - 9.20pm
Barbican Hall, London

BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto
ELGAR Symphony No 2

Sir Antonio Pappano conductor
Nikolaj Znaider violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

download audioListen: Elgar Symphony No 2 on LSO Live


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)


Part of the 2015/16 season


Please note that the LSO Platforms event will no longer go ahead due to changes in the Orchestra's rehearsal schedule.

A long-time collaborator with the LSO as a soloist, and lately as conductor, Nikolaj Znaider views the Beethoven Violin Concerto as the violin repertoire’s ‘bible’.

The only example of a concerto for an instrument other than piano, the piece reflects the lyrical side of Beethoven’s work; a serene, good-natured piece in which no sense of his struggle with the onset of deafness appears. Elgar’s Second Symphony is mellow yet inventive, with rather a mood of conflict, perhaps reflecting the mounting tensions that culminated in World War I three years later.