Dvorák Symphony No 8


With Lisa Batiashvili

Thu 9 Jun 2016 7.30pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

DVORÁK Overture: Othello
BARTÓK Violin Concerto No 1
DVORÁK Symphony No 8

Daniel Harding conductor
Lisa Batiashvili violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 6pm, free entry


download audioListen: Dvorák Symphony No 8 on LSO Live


 download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2015/16 season

The LSO’s Principal Guest Conductor’s second concert this month contrasts an achingly poignant concerto with a pastoral folk-tinged symphony.

Returning to the LSO for the first time in 10 years, Lisa Batiashvili performs Bartók’s First Violin Concerto. Written for the composer’s true love – violinist Stefi Geyer – the piece, and Bartók himself, were sadly rejected by the dedicatee. Subsequently held back from performance for fifty years it remains a bitter-sweet masterpiece straight from the heart. Dvorák was a proud countryman, often drawing on the folk and dance tunes of his native Bohemia. His Eighth Symphony is perhaps the most joyous example of this, moving from the idyllic to the more rustic but all joining together to paint a picture that is irrefutably Czech.