Sir Peter Maxwell Davies The Hogboon


Children's Opera

Sun 26 Jun 2016 7.00pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

PETER MAXWELL DAVIES The Hogboon (world premiere, LSO commission)
BERLIOZ Symphonie fantastique

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Mark Stone The Hogboon
Sebastian Exall Magnus
Katherine Broderick Mother
Claudia Huckle Good Witch
Peter Auty Earl of Orkney
Capucine Daumas The Cat
Lauren Lodge-Campbell Princess

LSO Discovery Choirs
London Symphony Chorus
Guildhall School Semi-Chorus
Simon Halsey chorus director
David Lawrence, Lucy Griffiths LSO Discovery Choir conductors
Neil Ferris Associate Chorus Director, London Symphony Chorus
Guildhall Symphony Orchestra
London Symphony Orchestra

Karen Gillingham stage director
Ruth Mariner assistant stage director
Rhiannon Newman Brown designer
Sean Turner associate designer


Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

download audio

Listen: Berlioz Symphonie fantastique on LSO Live


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)


Part of the 2015/16 season


This concert is generously supported by David HS Hobbs


Illustration: Dorothea Huber

Sir Simon Rattle’s LSO Discovery concert includes a brand new children’s opera, The Hogboon, by Peter Maxwell Davies and Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique, performed by young people alongside the LSO.

Story-telling is at the heart of this concert. Berlioz uses a gargantuan orchestra to depict his ‘Fantastical Symphony’ portraying a swirling ball, a cackling March to the Scaffold and dreams good and bad. Maxwell Davies bases his new opera on a local monster myth from his home in Orkney.

Rattle believes that classical music is for everyone, and has long been a leading advocate for living composers, and for music education and outreach to new audiences. He has specially devised this concert to incorporate the LSO Discovery children’s choirs, London Symphony Chorus, and students from Guildhall School, alongside members of the London Symphony Orchestra.