Haydn Trumpet Concerto


with Philip Cobb

Thu 22 Sep 2016 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

HAYDN Trumpet Concerto

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Philip Cobb trumpet
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £18 £24 £30 £42

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Gianandrea Noseda concludes the opening series of the 2016/17 season with three intensely personal works, which each pushed the boundaries of what was accepted through experimentation and rebellion.

Claude Debussy’s La mer is a unique three-movement work, formed from the composer’s own reminiscences of the ocean. It neither a tone poem nor a symphony, the ebbing and flowing of the waves bending traditional harmonic progressions. Despite contemporary backlash to the piece, it soon became one of Debussy’s most loved orchestral works.

Haydn’s Trumpet Concerto was created after the composer was relieved of his duties at the Esterházy court, and, for the first time in thirty years, free to experiment. The Concerto was composed for the trumpeter Weidinger, and was premiered in 1800 on one of the first 'keyed' trumpets, bringing a new realm of virtuosic possibilities to the instrument. Finally, Shostakovich’s Symphony No 5 (1937) is a bold protest against the Communist regime that had officially disgraced him. The insistent marching rhythms build up to a tranquil passage of 'Rebirth', representing the truth being revealed – resulting in a deeply affecting piece that secured Shostakovich’s reputation as a heroic assailant against the regime.

download unspecifiedBlog: In the spotlight – Philip Cobb