Mendelssohn Symphony No 2


with the Monteverdi Choir

Thu 20 Oct 2016 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

MENDELSSOHN Violin Concerto
MENDELSSOHN Symphony No 2 ('Lobgesang')

Sir John Eliot Gardiner conductor
Alina Ibragimova violin
Lucy Crowe soprano
Jurgita Adamonyté mezzo-soprano
Michael Spyres tenor
Monteverdi Choir
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £18 £24 £30 £42

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

bbc radio 3

Broadcast on BBC Radio 3

Also in this series

Sun 16 Oct 2016:
Mendelssohn Symphony No 2

Sir John Eliot Gardiner returns to the LSO, accompanied by the Monteverdi Choir, for a programme dedicated to two of the most monumental pieces of Felix Mendelssohn’s later career.

Premiered two years before the composer’s death in 1847, Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto is one of the great masterpieces of the violin repertoire, and his last large orchestral work. From the hauntingly beautiful opening motif, to scurrying arpeggios and fluttering tremolo, the concerto is a true display of the violinist’s versatility. Coupled with this is the composer’s symphony-cantata for orchestra and chorus, Lobgesang or Hymn of Praise (1840). With its stately grandeur and religiosity, and its sheer magnitude – double the length of any of his other symphonies – it stands as another of his most impressive works.