Dvorák Symphony No 8


NB – Change of Artist & Programme

Thu 10 Nov 2016 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

RAVEL Le tombeau de Couperin
SCHUMANN Violin Concerto
DVORÁK Symphony No 8

Pablo Heras-Casado conductor
Renaud Capuçon violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £18 £24 £30 £42

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Ravel’s Le tombeau de Couperin was composed between 1914 and 1917. Ravel was deeply affected by his time serving in the Great War, and each movement serves as a testimony to the composer’s fallen friends. Yet the work is often delicate and lyrical, and simultaneously pays homage to the Baroque French keyboard suite and to distinguished Baroque composer François Couperin (1668–1733). 

Dvorák's Symphony No 8 contains more influences from the composer’s Slavic heritage than any of his other symphonies – such as the lilting dumka of the third movement, and the festive fanfares of the final movement – creating a celebratory atmosphere, and a charming reinterpretation of Czech traditions and folk music in the classical medium.

Change of Artist & Programme 

To his great regret, André Previn has had to withdraw from the LSO concert at the Barbican on 10 November 2016. We are very grateful to Pablo Heras-Casado who will now be stepping in to conduct in his place.

As a result, part of the programme has had to be revised and the first half will now feature the Schumann Violin Concerto, with Renaud Capuçon as soloist. The opening piece and symphony will remain the same.

Please note that these changes supersede earlier changes to the programme and neither Susan Graham nor Daniel Müller-Schott will be performing.

Posted 10am, Tue 20 Sep 2016