Lawrence Power & Vertavo String Quartet


NB Change of Artist

Thu 17 Nov 2016 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Jerwood Hall, LSO St Luke's, London

SCHUBERT Overture in C minor
BEETHOVEN Fugue in D major Op 137
BRAHMS Clarinet Quintet in B minor Op 115 (version for viola and string quartet)

Lawrence Power viola
Vertavo String Quartet

Tickets: £12 (£10 concessions)
NB Unallocated seating

Multi-buy savings
Tickets are £9 per ticket when any 4 (or more) BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concerts are booked at the same time. NB all four concerts must be from the same season.

£0.60 online booking fee, £0.70 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

One of the world’s most charismatic viola soloists, Lawrence Power has been praised for his 'technical brilliance and emotional depth' and described as 'an artist of exceptional expressive power'.

Here he takes charge of the latest of our curated 'and Friends' series, inviting a distinguished group of kindred spirits to join him in a celebration of the viola as chamber-music star, revealing it in many settings and contexts, guises and characters. The Guardian has said of Power that 'his tone is breathtakingly beautiful, rich and poetic, but such is his insight that the music, rather than his technique, is what commands attention.' Plenty to look forward to.

Change of Artist

Please note that in a change to previously advertised listings, the Vertavo String Quartet will now perform with Lawrence Power, replacing original soloist Sarah Connolly.