Prokofiev Symphony No 6


NB – Change of Artist

Wed 30 Nov 2016 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

TCHAIKOVSKY Fantasy Overture: Romeo and Juliet
TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No 1
PROKOFIEV Symphony No 6

Thomas Søndergård conductor
Barry Douglas piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £18 £24 £30 £42

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the 2016/17 season


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Tchaikovsky’s Romeo and Juliet Overture is perhaps the most iconic love theme of all time, its bittersweet melody and foreboding, luscious strings expressing the heartache and tragedy of the star-crossed lovers. The Piano Concerto No 1 is the perfect partner for this theatrical work – from its imposing introductory fanfare to the triumphant finale, the work is at the height of drama and passion.

Prokofiev wrote his Sixth Symphony as a response to the tragedies of World War II and a dark, reflective counterpart to the celebratory tone of his Fifth Symphony. This thought-provoking work is characterised by a sombre tone which occasionally gives way to nostalgia and nobility. The shattering climax of the finale leaves no question as to the composer’s intention, reminding us of the profound cost of war and conflict.

Change of Artist

Valery Gergiev is recovering after a knee operation, and is unable to travel to London to conduct the LSO’s concerts on Tuesday 29 and Wednesday 30 November.

The LSO is very grateful to conductor Thomas Søndergård for agreeing to step in to conduct these concerts at short notice. The programme remains the same.

Posted 12pm, Monday 28 November 2016