Mussorgsky Pictures at an Exhibition


with James Ehnes

Wed 14 Dec 2016 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

RAVEL La valse
SHOSTAKOVICH Violin Concerto No 1
MICHAEL TAPLIN Ebbing Tides (world premiere, Panufnik commission)
MUSSORGSKY ARR RAVEL Pictures at an Exhibition

Fabien Gabel conductor
James Ehnes violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £18 £24 £30 £42

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)


LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 6pm, free entry
Shostakovich and Mussorgsky piano music


Part of the 2016/17 season

Supported by LSO Friends

The Panufnik Composers Scheme is supported by the Helen Hamlyn Trust

Also in this series

Thu 23 Mar 2017:
Shostakovich Cello Concerto

Rising star Fabien Gabel conducts a programme highlighting the subtle connections between French and Russian repertoire.

Shostakovich’s searing Violin Concerto No 1 forms the centrepiece of this concert, performed here by the inimitable James Ehnes. The concerto was written during a time of great turmoil for Shostakovich, and was supressed for almost a decade before its first performance. This darkly dramatic work revels in devil-may-care virtuosity for orchestra and soloist alike.

A pair of works created by Ravel bookend the programme. La valse is a musical depiction of the birth and eventual destruction of the waltz genre that saw its heyday amidst the grandeur and excess of fin-de-siecle Vienna. Ravel’s iconic arrangement of Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition brings the concert to a thrilling close, with Ravel’s flawlessly crafted orchestration breathing life and colour into Mussorgsky’s magnum opus.