Tchaikovsky Symphony no 4


Sun 18 Dec 2016 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

MOZART Violin Concerto No 1
MOZART Violin Concerto No 4

Nikolaj Znaider conductor/violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £18 £24 £30 £42

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2016/17 season

Also in this series

Sun 14 May 2017:
Mozart Violin Concerto No 5


National Youth Orchestra Inspire Day

Sunday 18 December, 9am–5.30pm
Cost: free
Ages: 13–19
Standard: grade 6 and above

An immersive day of workshops and rehearsals on peer learning and sharing with NYO Musicians, followed by a joint performance with LSO and NYO musicians on the Barbican stage. Deadline to apply is 21 November.

Find out more at

Along with your NYO Inspire registration, you'll be offered a £5 ticket to hear the London Symphony Orchestra live in concert on the same evening.

Violinist and conductor Nikolaj Znaider directs the London Symphony Orchestra in a cycle of Mozart’s elegant Violin Concertos alongside the dramatic symphonies of Tchaikovsky.

Mozart’s violin concerts were all written when he was a teenager over the course of just two years. The First was penned when he was 17, by which time he had already been a court orchestra concertmaster for four years and knew intimately how best to write for the prized singing tone of the instrument.

'I not only love Mozart, I worship him' Tchaikovsky once wrote to his friend and patron Nadezhda von Meck, to whom he also dedicated his Fourth Symphony. Written at a very difficult time in his life this emotionally complex work is saturated with the idea of fate, or as the composer wrote 'that fatal force which prevents the impulse to happiness from attaining its goal’.