LSO Chamber Orchestra


Please note venue

Fri 13 Jan 2017 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Milton Court Concert Hall

JS BACH Orchestral Suite No 1
WF BACH Symphony in F Major
CPE BACH Symphony in G Major, wq 182
TELEMANN Recorder Concerto in C Major
HAYDN Symphony No 49 ('La Passione')

Giovanni Antonini conductor/recorder
LSO Chamber Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £20 £30

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the 2016/17 season

The LSO Chamber Orchestra performs a diverse programme of works from the 18th century, a period defined by transition and variety, as the baroque lay on the cusp of the Classical era.

The wildcard amongst Bach’s musical prodigy sons, Wilhelm Friedemann Bach’s Symphony in F Major is a characteristically unique work, with unexpected turns in tonality and a surprisingly free use of tempo – a fascinating contrast to the refined and dramatic Symphony in G major by his brother, C P E Bach. Meanwhile, Telemann’s Recorder Concerto explores the technical and musical possibilities of the instrument. Concluding the programme is Haydn’s majestic Symphony No 49, nicknamed 'la Passione', its austere and melancholy soundworld reminiscent of the religiosity of the Holy Week.