Strauss Death and Transfiguration


with Benjamin Grosvenor

Thu 26 Jan 2017 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

BRAHMS Piano Concerto No 1
BRAHMS Variations on a Theme by Haydn
STRAUSS Death and Transfiguration

Alpesh Chauhan conductor
Benjamin Grosvenor piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £18 £24 £30 £42

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the 2016/17 season


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Rec ClassicFM 2016 150 50

Also in this series

Sun 12 Mar 2017:
Brahms & Strauss

Alpesh Chauhan and Benjamin Grosvenor, two outstanding young artists turning heads internationally, make their LSO debuts this evening in core territory by Brahms and Richard Strauss.

Brahms was only 25 himself when he finished his First Piano Concerto, a work which took audiences by surprise with its grandeur and scope, and 40 when he composed the popular Variations on a Theme by Haydn, after which he was completely financially secure. Strauss took ten years to compose the famous tone poems on which his popularity in the concert hall chiefly rest. For Tod und Verklärung (Death and Transfiguration) he provided a detailed synopsis which the music exactly illustrates of an artist on his deathbed recalling his youth and unfulfilled idealism, before he dies and his soul achieves transfiguration.