Artist Portrait: Janine Jansen


Bernstein Serenade

Sun 5 Feb 2017 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

SIBELIUS The Oceanides
NIELSEN Symphony No 4 ('The Inextinguishable')

Sir Antonio Pappano conductor
Janine Jansen violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £18 £24 £30 £42

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

download audioListen: Nielsen Symphony No 4 on LSO Live


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
Due to a scheduling clash this recital will no longer be taking place

Part of the 2016/17 season

Janine Jansen – a violinist who pours every drop of energy and emotion into her performances – launches her LSO Artist Portrait series, collaborating with conductor Sir Antonio Pappano.

Jansen leads us through the changing characters and moods of Bernstein’s Serenade, a musical meditation on love inspired by Plato. Two works by Nordic composers, conducted by Pappano, complete the line-up, culminating in the thrilling, life-affirming power of Nielsen’s Fourth Symphony, 'The Inextinguishable'.

Commended by The Times for performances that reveal both 'technical prowess’ and 'a highly stimulated and fiery imagination', Janine Jansen has been working with the LSO for over a decade, and returns in 2016/17 for her Artist Portrait series. She is joined here by Sir Antonio Pappano, who channels his flair for dramatic music into three works of great character and passion.