Mark-Anthony Turnage: Håkan


NB Change of Conductor

Wed 15 Feb 2017 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

MARK-ANTHONY TURNAGE Håkan (UK Premiere, LSO co-commission)

John Wilson conductor
Håkan Hardenberger trumpet
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £18 £24 £30 £42

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

download audio

Listen: Rachmaninov Symphony No 2 on LSO Live


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)


LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 6pm, free entry
Rachmaninov piano music


Part of the 2016/17 season

Supported by LSO Patrons

Also in this series:

Sun 25 Sep 2016:
Mahler Symphony No 4

Sun 25 Jun 2017:
Mahler Symphony No 3

John Wilson conducts the UK premiere performance of Håkan, Mark-Anthony Turnage’s second concerto for virtuoso trumpet player Håkan Hardenberger.

Håkan Hardenberger is the world’s foremost trumpet soloist renowned for his genre-defying performances and tireless exploration of new repertoire. Following the success of his first collaboration with composer Mark Anthony-Turnage on the trumpet concerto From the Wreckage, he presents the UK premiere of Håkan, Turnage’s second work in the genre.

The second half of the concert will see Wilson and the LSO tackle Rachmaninov’s emotionally and musically expansive Second Symphony, a work that is considered to be amongst the composer’s finest achievements.

Change of Conductor

Daniel Harding is indisposed, and is unable to conduct the LSO’s concert  on 15 February 2017. The LSO is very grateful to John Wilson for stepping in to conduct this concert at short notice. The programme remains the same.

Posted 10am, Monday 13 February 2017