Vadym Kholodenko


BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert

Thu 23 Feb 2017 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Jerwood Hall, LSO St Luke's, London

RACHMANINOV Three Preludes from Op 32: No 1 in C major – No 2 in B flat minor – No 11 in B major 
MEDTNER Three Fairy Tales: Op 9 No 2 in C major – Op 20 No 2 in B minor – Op 51 No 1 in D minor
RACHMANINOV Études-Tableaux Op 33 Nos 2–4; Études-Tableaux Op 39 Nos 6–9 

Vadym Kholodenko piano

Tickets: £12 (£10 concessions)
NB Unallocated seating

Multi-buy savings
Tickets are £9 per ticket when any 4 (or more) BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concerts are booked at the same time. NB all four concerts must be from the same season.

£0.60 online booking fee, £0.70 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the 2016/17 season

bbc radio 3

Broadcast on Friday 17 March 2017 at 1pm


Also in this series:

Thu 2 Feb 2017:
Elisabeth Leonskaja

Thu 9 Feb 2017:
Alexei Volodin

Thu 16 Feb 2017:
Anna Vinnitskaya

Four pianists celebrate the riches of the Russian piano repertoire before and after the momentous events of 1917, when the country was shaken by not one but two revolutions. For the Russian people, life changed utterly as society was remodelled from top to bottom. Composers’ reactions varied widely. Rachmaninov left Russia as quickly as he could, soon followed by Medtner and Prokofiev – who would later return home.

The Shostakovich family, by contrast, welcomed the revolutions – though precocious young Dmitri was only eleven at the time. This series marks the centenary with four concerts that each feature Russian piano music both 'before' and 'after' 1917: from Tchaikovsky through Rachmaninov and Medtner to Prokofiev and Shostakovich.