Also sprach Zarathustra


NB Change of artists

Sun 12 Mar 2017 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

BRAHMS Violin Concerto
STRAUSS Also sprach Zarathustra

Susanna Mälkki conductor
Christian Tetzlaff violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £18 £24 £30 £42

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)


Also in this series:

LSO Artist Portrait: Janine Jansen

Thu 6 Apr 2017:
Berg Violin Concerto


LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 5.30pm, free entry
Brahms chamber music


Part of the 2016/17 season

bbc radio 3

For violinists, Brahms’ Concerto is one of the peaks of all music written for the instrument, combining orchestral drama, lyricism and infectious folk-dance rhythms. Following it up is another iconic work, Richard Strauss’ tone poem Also sprach Zarathustra.

Change of artists

Due to illness there will be a change of both soloist and conductor for this concert.

Janine Jansen has had to withdraw from the concert due to sinusitis with related complications, and Valery Gergiev has influenza and has been advised by his doctors not to travel.

Christian Tetzlaff will now be appearing as soloist and the concert will be conducted by Susanna Mälkki. The LSO is very grateful to both of them for stepping in at such short notice.

The programme remains the same

Posted 6pm Friday 10 March 2017