Narek Hakhnazaryan & Pavel Kolesnikov


NB Change of Programme

Thu 6 Apr 2017 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Jerwood Hall, LSO St Luke's, London

BRAHMS Cello Sonata No 2 in F major
DEBUSSY Cello Sonata
FAURÉ Élégie; Après un rêve; Papillon

Narek Hakhnazaryan cello
Pavel Kolesnikov piano

Tickets: £12 (£10 concessions)
NB Unallocated seating

Multi-buy savings
Tickets are £9 per ticket when any 4 (or more) BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concerts are booked at the same time. NB all four concerts must be from the same season.

£0.60 online booking fee, £0.70 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the 2016/17 season

'When I started learning the cello', the great Russian cellist Mstislav Rostropovich once said, 'I fell in love with the instrument because it seemed like a voice – my voice'.

Following on from previous series devoted to the piano and the violin, For the first time, LSO St Luke’s makes room for four concerts devoted to ravishing music for that same singing bass instrument. The line-up is good company: Narek Hakhnazaryan, still in his 20s and currently a BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist, is one of the brightest rising stars on the scene, while Christian Poltéra and Alban Gerhardt have both established outstanding international solo careers. The cast is completed by duos from the LSO’s own two brilliant Principal Cellos, Tim Hugh and Rebecca Gilliver.

Change of Programme

At the request of the soloist, Schumann's Adagio and Allegro has been replaced by Fauré's Élégie and Papillon. The rest of the programme – Brahms' Cello Sonata No 2, Debussy's Cello Sonata and Fauré's Après un rêve – remains the same.

Posted Thursday 23 March 5pm