Bruckner Symphony No 4


After Romanticism

Sun 23 Apr 2017 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

DEBUSSY Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
BARTÓK Viola Concerto
BRUCKNER Symphony No 4

François-Xavier Roth conductor
Antoine Tamestit viola
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £18 £24 £30 £42

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

download audioListen: Bruckner Symphony No 4 on LSO Live


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)


LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 5.30pm, free entry
Debussy and Bartok piano music


Part of the 2016/17 season


download videoThis concert will be live streamed on the LSO's YouTube Channel and

bbc radio 3

Broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on Monday 24 April

medici logo web

Streamed live and on demand for three months on

François-Xavier Roth returns to conduct the second set of concerts in his After Romanticism series, a carefully curated exploration of this significant period in music history. In 2016/17 he focuses on the music of Debussy and Bartók, two composers who radicalized the musical language of their predecessors to produce a brilliant and inventive style of their own.

Debussy’s Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune is an evocative and poetic opener that oozes the rich imagery of its source, a symbolist poem by Stéphane Mallarmé. Bartók’s Viola Concerto brings this oft-overlooked string instrument to centre-stage, showcasing the instrument and its capabilities in full, before the programme concludes with a bedrock piece of the 19th century: Bruckner’s Symphony No 4, the 'Romantic', filled to the brim with evocative images of love, nature and a simpler time.

download videoThis concert will be live streamed on the LSO YouTube channel and on