Faust Chamber Orchestra: Late and Early


LSO St Luke's Guest Artists

Fri 5 May 2017 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Jerwood Hall, LSO St Luke's, London

SCHUMANN Overture: Hermann und Dorothea
SCHUMANN Cello Concerto in A minor Op 129
BRAHMS Serenade No 1 in D major Op 11

Mark Austin conductor
Guy Johnston cello
Faust Chamber Orchestra

Tickets: £18 £21 £25 (£10 students)

£0.60 online booking fee, £0.70 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Promoted by Faust Chamber Orchestra

Faust Chamber Orchestra gives a rare performance of Brahms' exquisite Serenade No 1 under the baton of Mark Austin. The concert features an illustrated introduction to this early work, originally written for nonet and then boldly orchestrated by the composer. Acclaimed soloist Guy Johnston performs Schumann's late Cello Concerto, an outpouring of intense lyricism composed in just two weeks.