Tchaikovsky Symphony No 5


Nikolaj Znaider

Sun 14 May 2017 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

MOZART Violin Concerto No 5

Nikolaj Znaider conductor/violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £18 £24 £30 £42

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Part of the 2016/17 season

Nikolaj Znaider continues his cycle of Mozart Violin Concertos with the pinnacle of the set, the grand and witty Fifth.

Although his five concertos were written in quick succession at a young age there is no denying Mozart’s growth in confidence when writing for the violin and the Fifth is by far the most grown up. Finishing with a spirited rondo the solo part’s leaping notes and exotic ornamentation led to the eastern-themed nickname 'Turkish'.

Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony was not received well when first performed, to the already insecure composer’s great distress. He would be hearted to know then that with its bold, romantic tunes and rich orchestration it has since grown to become a firm favourite with audiences and critics alike.